Long Phung Vietnamese Restaurant

Having spent a few years in Melbourne where authentic and delicious Vietnamese food are aplenty, I am no stranger to the cuisine. Some even go as far as to claim that the best Vietnamese food is not found in Vietnam, but in Melbourne.

.Situated in messy vibrant Joo Chiat – also known as Little Vietnam, Long Phung is easily identified by its green signage and snaking queue. You know you’re in good hands when you see throngs of Vietnamese in the eatery. There are two main things that I come here for – pho and coffee.

Note: Prices indicated here have been revised to reflect the prices shown on the menu as of 30 March 2014.

IMG_0408
Fish sauce chicken wings ($9): Crispy and tasty, these finger-licking goodness are the perfect beer food. Just don’t forget to save space for pho!

DSCN2580-001

Pho Tai ($6.50): Served pipping hot with rare beef slices and rice noodles in a flavourful broth. Not only was the soup a winner, the noodles were soft and silky, and the beef delightfully tender. Hands down the best pho in Singapore. Fussy eaters will be pleased to know that the rice noodles doesn’t have the icky flour taste also. For that extra oomph, don’t forget to add a squeeze of lime and some cut chilies.

For those who do not take beef, chicken version of the pho is available too. The broth is different (obviously) but tasty in its own way – well seasoned and a little on the sweet side.

IMG_0412

Com suon + op la ($6.50): Vietnamese pork chop rice with a side of fried egg. Tender and well marinated, this is one tasty pork chop you do not want to pass on. I love my rice dishes with fried egg, so I do appreciate that I do not have to pay extra for the egg. Also, the fact that the egg yolk is still gooey in the centre is a major plus point.

DSCN2584-001

Cafe Sua Da ($3.50): Vietnamese drip coffee with condensed milk. Strong (and by strong I mean double espresso shots equivalent or more) and aromatic with a smooth chocolatey finish. This mocha tasting cuppa takes me back to the streets of HCM and it’s easily one of the best Vietnamese coffee that I’ve had in Singapore.DSCN2582-001Tamarind juice ($3): I have had tamarind in many ways but tamarind juice is a first for me. Sweet and sour at the same time, this is a good alternative for those who prefer a non-caffeinated drink. Also, I love that the peanuts add a nutty touch to the drink. Those with peanut allergy should avoid this drink at all cost.

Overall, this place is highly recommended for its unpretentious and amazingly delish food. It has been my go-to place to get my Vietnamese food fix and will continue to be. Well, at least until I find somewhere better.

Long Phung Vietnamese Restaurant is located on 159 Joo Chiat Road and is open from 11:00 to 23:00 daily